Southern Tasmanian Bowls Association Inc.





Bowls Tasmania South

PO Box 832, Ph/Fax. 6249 1124 Glenorchy.Tas. 7010 Mob. 0409 703 073

Email: bowls.south@bigpond.com

Website: www.bowlstasmaniasouth.bowls.com.au

ABN 12 820 830 594

President: Leigh McAdam Secretary: Rob McGuire

Minutes of the Board meeting held at the Buckingham Bowls Club on Monday 2 June 2014 commencing at 4.30pm

Present: Leigh McAdam (President), Ailsa Milburn (Deputy President), Grant Allford, Ross Bannister, Jan Booth,

Tony Fulton, Shirley Hay, Nick Lee and Rob McGuire.

Apology: Tony Kerrison.

General Business:

Committee and Other Appointments 2014-15:

Executive Assistant:

Nick Lee advised that he would withdraw his nomination for this position. It was resolved to appoint Paul Hoddy as Executive Assistant.

Statistician:

It was resolved that Paul Hoddy be appointed as BTS Statistician for 2014-15.

Women's Match Committee:

It was resolved that Jan Booth be appointed as Chair of the Women's Match Committee. It was further resolved that Margaret Kirwan and Ailsa Milburn be appointed to the Women's Match Committee. It was agreed that the Secretary would approach Cheryl Holland to see if she is interested in filling the other vacancy on the Committee.

Men's Match Committee

It was resolved that Ross Bannister be appointed as Chair of the Men's Match Committee. It was further resolved to appoint Ken Coppleman, Tony Davie and Craig Triffitt on the Committee. It was agreed that the Secretary would approach Max Banks to see if he is interested in filling the other vacancy on the Committee.

Finance Committee:

It was resolved to appoint Leigh McAdam, Ailsa Milburn, Tony Fulton and Rob McGuire to this Committee.

Selection Committees, Coaches and Managers:

Verbal expressions of interest in the Men's Selection Committee have been received from Grant Allford, Phil Hobbs and Michael Eiszele.

An expression of interest in the Women's Selection Committee has been received from Leonie Price.

The BTS Coaches Panel has submitted the following nominations for the Under 18 and Under 25 teams for 2014-15:



Under 18 Southern Junior Manager: Tom O'Brien

Under 18 Southern Junior Coaches: Tom O'Brien and Ross Bannister Under 18 Southern Selectors: Tom O'Brien and Ross Bannister

Under 25 Southern Manager: Ross Bannister

Under 25 Southern Coaches: Ross Bannister and Tom O'Brien Under 25 Southern Selectors: Ross Bannister and Tom O'Brien

It was agreed to invite expressions of interest in selector, coaches and managers for all BTS representative teams for 2014-15 with expressions of interest required to be submitted by 30 June 2014.

Concern was raised that BTS may not have sufficient players to fill its Under 18 and Under 25 teams if these games are played on the same day as Men's and Women's Statewide pennant. It was agreed that the secretary would raise this issue with Bowls Tasmania.

Greens Advisory Committee:

It was resolved to appoint Leigh Higgins (Chair) and David McLean to this Committee.

Casual Vacancy on Board:

It was resolved to approach Paula Hadley and offer her the opportunity to fill the casual vacancy on the Board due to the appointment of Jan Booth as Chair of the Women's Match Committee.

Special General Meeting:

Following concerns raised by the President of Bowls Tasmania, the Board considered the legality of the letter requesting the overturning of the Board's decision to introduce non-gender specific Saturday Pennant in 2014-15. The letter from the seven Clubs seeks to overturn the BTS Board's decision to introduce non-gender specific Saturday Pennant next season in accordance with Clause 9.1 (c) of the BTS Constitution that provides that inter alia "... Should a motion to disallow such a proposed rule, rule alteration or repeal be received from not less than five Clubs, the existing rules are to remain unchanged until that motion is dealt with at a general meeting of the Association, and any change is to reflect the decision of that meeting". Accordingly the BTS Constitution requires that the motion has to be dealt with at a general meeting of BTS. Clause 23 of the BTS Constitution provides that:

- 23.1 The Board may, whenever it thinks fit, convene a general meeting of the Association.
- 23.2 The Board shall on the requisition of the President or on the requisition in writing of at least three (3) Member Clubs convene a general meeting of the Association.

The BTS Board at its meeting on 19 May 2014 decided to convene a special general meeting of the Association to consider the Motion. It was agreed that the BTS Board has the power to convene such a special general meeting whenever it deems fit. It does not need a requisition in writing of at least three (3) Member Clubs to convene the general meeting.

It was agreed that the following rules will apply to the special general meeting:

- One of the signatories to the Motion will be asked to move the Motion.
- Anyone present at the meeting will be entitled to speak for or against the motion but can only speak once.
- There will be a time limit of three minutes for each speaker a single warning bell will be sounded at 2 ½ minutes and a double warning bell will be sounded at 3 minutes at which time the speaker must finish speaking.
- The mover of the motion will be granted a right of reply.
- Only delegates present will be able to vote on a show of voting cards. A simple majority is required to pass the motion.



No proxy votes are allowed.

A question was raised as to who can vote at the special general meeting. Section 19.1 of the BTS Constitution provides that "Each Member Club shall be entitled to be represented by two voting delegates at every general meeting of the Association. Where a Club has both male and female Club Members, one delegate must be male and the other female." It was agreed that where Member Clubs have registered both male and female members in the 2013-14 season with BTS they need to have a male and a female member as their delegates to be entitled to two votes. Oatlands, Ouse and Royal Hobart are the only Clubs in 2013-14 who registered male members only and will accordingly be entitled to have two male delegate votes at the meeting.

It was agreed to send out a second reminder to Clubs re the special general meeting and include the following additional information with the reminder:

- Information in support of non-gender specific pennant as previously sent to Clubs.
- Letter of support from Bowls Tasmania.
- Clubs are to be reminded that they do not have to pick women for Saturday Pennant teams if that is their wish.
- Reminder that Delegates at the BTS Delegates Meeting in March 2014 gave the BTS Board authority to makes decisions in the best interest of bowls in Southern Tasmania on the format of pennant for 2014-15 based on information provided by the Clubs. The BTS Board has done that and is disappointed that that decision is now being questioned by some Clubs.
- Request for delegates names to be advised to BTS.
- Information on rules for the meeting and voting rights.

Banking Authorities:

It was resolved that the President (Leigh McAdam), Vice President (Ailsa Milburn), Secretary Rob McGuire) and Treasurer (Tony Fulton) be authorised as signatories for BTS Bendigo Bank Accounts. It was further resolved that Trevor Quilliam, Neil Clark and Roger Harvey be removed as authorised signatories.

Date of next meeting:	Will be held on Monday 16 June 2014 at the Buckingham Bowls Club at 4.30pm.
Meeting closed at 5.15	pm.
Confirmed	

